The Eaten Path

 
Picture
Maria's Cafe
1113 E Frankin Ave
Minneapolis, MN 55404
(612) 870-9842
www.mariascafe.com/

Seriously?  How could I have lived this close to the yumminess of the corn cakes for almost six months without enjoying them?  Maybe to save myself from the certain addiction that is going to brew now that I have had them.  Great flavors.  Great textures.  Savory from the chunks of corn and crumbled cojita cheese.  Just a bit of sweet to off-set it with the touch of syrup that I dipped them in.  They didn't need much.  We also tried the huevos pericos. I don't want it to seem like the huevos weren't good because they were.  I love making little breakfast wraps!  The salsa was the perfect heat for me.  Spicy, but not so spicy that you miss the fresh tomatoes and onions in there.  When I go back, I know I am going to want the corn cakes all to myself though.  Sorry, huevos.    

We got there around 10:30 or so on a Sunday.  We had a bit of a hard time figuring the process out and were a little worried about the huge line in the hallway.  I don't think we waited even 10-15  minutes total though.  Excellent!  They were pretty quick to take our order and brought coffee refills frequently.  Not the strongest Columbian coffee I have ever had, but plenty strong enough to keep me wired all day!  

The live music started just as we were wrapping up.  He wasn't bad, but I could have lived without it.  It just made it a little too loud for easy conversation.
Michelle
2/8/2012 04:37:47 am

I love the corn pancakes at Maria's! Are you still doing this brunch club?

Reply



Leave a Reply.